Directive 423.01 DIs/Dui Mandatory Sentences

STATE OF VERMONT
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1. Authority: e g%% 1 4
¥
1.1. Title 23, Vermont Statutes Annotated, Ch ter}, Sections 674 (b) (1) (A), 674 (b) (2); Chapter 13,
Sections 1210 (c), 28 Vermont Statuﬁée"égg%ﬁ ggtéd, Sections 101 (1), 102 (b) (2).
o i
2. Purpose: y ﬁ%@%mm@«%

2.1. The purpose of this directivesi %g@tﬁblish guidelines for mandatory sentences for Driving License
Suspended (DLS).and Dr %ﬁ

der the Influence of Intoxicating (DUI) liquor or other substances
where a Judge has the option of%)rdering imprisonment or house arrest as a sentence.

3. Applicability/Accessibility
3.1. Allindividuals and groups affected by the operation of the department of corrections May 6, 1999 have a

copy of this directive.

4, Directive

4.1. General Requirements

411  Title 23 V.S.A. section 674 requires a sentencing court to sentence offenders convicted of DLS
(first offense) to either 48 hours incarceration or house arrest status under conditions approved
by the Department. The choice of the option used is solely within the discretion of the
sentencing court. For those offenders serving a sentence for DLS (second offense) the
sentencing court may impose a sentence of at least 96 hours in a correctional facility or in a
house arrest status as approved by the department.
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4.2.

4.3.

4.1.2  For the third offense, statute requires the sentencing court to sentence the offender to at least

eight consecutive days in a correctional facility. The sentence may not be suspended, deferred,

nor may the offender be placed on furlough after incarceration begins.

4.1.3  For the fourth and subsequent offenses, statute requires the sentencing court to sentence the

offender to at least 16 consecutive days in a correctional facility. Again, "the sentence may not

be suspended or deferred. Furlough shall not be granted in any case where the court has ordered

the offender to a period of incarceration.

Procedural Requirements

4.2.1  The following intake/admission procedures will be used in these cases.

4211

4272

Community Correctional Service Centers (CCSC) shall supervise offenders
sentenced under 23 V.S.A. chapter 9 when the judge has ordered that a sentence be
served on house arrest. House arrest is the status to be utilized in cases where the
mittimus states either "house arrest" op@gfégectional facility or house arrest”". CCSCs
shall develop and implement prq‘%d es %@a{’ensure house arrest status is available
ﬁ%ake ocedures applicable to an offender being

for such offenders. Normal
released on furlough shglgﬁe tased. Procedures for supervision shall include, but not

be limited to:

@and/or

4.2.1.1. Z%anumty restitution where the offender reports for community work
service or restitution programs for a total of 48 hours, 96 hours., etc.,

and/or

4.2.1.1.3 other programmatic activities that may be broken up into time increments

(but never to exceed 48 hours, 96 hours, etc.

CCSC's will develop local protocols to ensure that the sentencing court has

maximum opportunity to define the use of a, b, ¢ above.

Correctional facilities will process all offenders ordered to report to a regional
correctional facility for service of sentences where the sentence mittimus clearly
states that the offender is sentenced to imprisonment. Each offender must be

incarcerated for the period stated in the mediums; e.g., 48 hours, 96 hours, etc.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
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431

Title 23 V. S. A., Section 1210 requires the sentencing court in cases where the offender is
convicted of DUI, second offense, to ~ at least 48 consecutive hours imprisonment. This
portion of the sentence may not be suspended or deferred or served as a supervised community
sentence or period of furlough. The exact period of time (48 hours, 96 hours, etc.) must be
served in a correctional facility. Regional correctional facilities shall promulgate procedures for
notifying the defendant, the sentencing court, and other appropriate parties that the defendant

must report to the regional correctional facility that normally services the sentencing court.

4.4, Qverlapping Sentences

441

5. Training Method
5.1.

6.
6.1.

7. Financial Impact:

8. References

Quality Assurance Processes

Responsible Director and Draft ar

When a court has ordered a period of incarceration or house arrest, only that total period may be
served by the offender in anyone of the two options ordered to be served. The offender may be
required, for example, to serve 48 hours confined to his home. The department then may not
order the offender to perform community work service in addition to the court-ordered period of

home confinement as the 48-hour sentence would be exceeded.

Richard A. Smith, Assistant Directof, ‘ogram Services, 241-2269.
Jackie Kotkin, Assistant Director, Correctional Services, 241-2247
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